Skip to content
FloatCap

Supply breakdown

Shares as of Aug 3, 2026
Share supply splitFree float: 10.29M shares, 91.1%Other restricted: 1.01M shares, 8.9%
Circulating91.1%10.29M shares
CategoryShares%Value
CirculatingDerived10.29M91.1%$21.41B
Free floatUnavailable---
Insider-held, unrestrictedUnavailable---
Locked team fundsVerified00.0%$0
Other restrictedVerified1.01M8.9%$2.09B
Total outstandingVerified11.29M100.0%$23.5B
Ownership views (overlap the categories above, never added)
Institutional holdings (13F)Estimated6.61M58.5%$13.75B
Insider-held, all (Forms 3, 4, 5)Unavailable---
Pledged for loans (borrowed against)Verified331.3K2.9%$689.37M

Institutional and insider holdings can include both tradable and locked shares, so they are shown for reference and never added to the total. Check: no class has more shares deducted than it has outstanding, and the review found no shares that may be counted twice: reconciles.

Pledged shares (borrowed against)

Shares that insiders or large holders have pledged as collateral for loans, as reported in proxy statements and Schedule 13D filings. A pledge does not lock or free a share by itself, so pledged shares stay in whichever category above they belong to. Where a filing states how much was borrowed, that amount is added to the FloatCap market cap; most filings do not.

  • Frank B. Holding, Jr., executive officer and director (Wells Fargo Bank pledge) has pledged 90,000 shares (0.80% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.His pledges total 198,052 Class A shares: Wells Fargo 90,000, Bank of America 20,000, Truist 88,052. The 2026 proxy (record date March 6, 2026) lists the same 198,052. Pledged to secure personal credit lines. The 2026 proxy calls the pledges of Frank B. Holding, Jr. and Hope H. Bryant 'grandfathered' under the anti-pledging policy and says the loan-to-stock value ratio is very low. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Frank B. Holding, Jr., executive officer and director (Bank of America pledge) has pledged 20,000 shares (0.18% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Part of his 198,052 pledged Class A shares (Wells Fargo 90,000, Bank of America 20,000, Truist 88,052). Pledged to secure personal credit lines. The 2026 proxy calls the pledges of Frank B. Holding, Jr. and Hope H. Bryant 'grandfathered' under the anti-pledging policy and says the loan-to-stock value ratio is very low. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Frank B. Holding, Jr., executive officer and director (Truist Bank pledge) has pledged 88,052 shares (0.78% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Part of his 198,052 pledged Class A shares (Wells Fargo 90,000, Bank of America 20,000, Truist 88,052). Pledged to secure personal credit lines. The 2026 proxy calls the pledges of Frank B. Holding, Jr. and Hope H. Bryant 'grandfathered' under the anti-pledging policy and says the loan-to-stock value ratio is very low. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Hope H. Bryant, executive officer and director (Bank of America pledge) has pledged 10,000 shares (0.09% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Her pledges total 78,362 Class A shares: Bank of America 10,000 and Truist 68,362. The 2026 proxy (record date March 6, 2026) listed 134,362, so 56,000 fewer are pledged now; no filing says when. Pledged to secure personal credit lines. The 2026 proxy calls the pledges of Frank B. Holding, Jr. and Hope H. Bryant 'grandfathered' under the anti-pledging policy and says the loan-to-stock value ratio is very low. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Hope H. Bryant, executive officer and director (Truist Bank pledge) has pledged 68,362 shares (0.61% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Part of her 78,362 pledged Class A shares (Bank of America 10,000, Truist 68,362). The 2026 proxy listed 134,362 at March 6, 2026. Pledged to secure personal credit lines. The 2026 proxy calls the pledges of Frank B. Holding, Jr. and Hope H. Bryant 'grandfathered' under the anti-pledging policy and says the loan-to-stock value ratio is very low. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Olivia B. Holding, 8.9% holder of Class A (Bank of America pledge) has pledged 10,000 shares (0.09% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Her pledges total 50,000 Class A shares: Bank of America 10,000 and Truist 40,000. Pledged to secure personal credit lines. This holder is a Schedule 13D filer, not a director or executive officer, so the anti-pledging policy does not cover these shares. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Olivia B. Holding, 8.9% holder of Class A (Truist Bank pledge) has pledged 40,000 shares (0.35% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Part of her 50,000 pledged Class A shares (Bank of America 10,000, Truist 40,000). Pledged to secure personal credit lines. This holder is a Schedule 13D filer, not a director or executive officer, so the anti-pledging policy does not cover these shares. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares
  • Carson H. Brice, Holding family member and Schedule 13D filer (Truist Bank pledge) has pledged 4,890 shares (0.04% of the total), as of Aug 7, 2026.Loan amount not disclosed.Her only pledge is 4,890 Class A shares to Truist. Pledged to secure personal credit lines. She is a Schedule 13D filer, not a director or executive officer, so the anti-pledging policy does not cover these shares. No filing states the amount borrowed.SC 13D/A, Exhibit E, Pledged Shares

Company debt

Balance sheet, Jun 30, 2026

Not added to market cap: FCNCA is a bank funded by deposits, so its debt is part of operations rather than financing.

Government funding and grants

Not reviewed yet.

Shown, not subtracted: loans are already in company debt and government-held shares are already counted. A company is tagged when grants and subsidy credits are most of its profit or most of its value.

Valuation

  • Traditional$23.5B
  • Fully diluted-
  • FloatCap$21.41B
  • Free float-
  • Locked team value$0
  • Other restricted value$2.09B

Locked and restricted shares

1 item

Class B (not listed on any exchange)

1,005,185 shares

8.9% of total · $2.09B

Class B shares are not listed on any exchange and cannot be traded as they are. A holder must first convert them into Class A shares, which can then be sold. FloatCap counts them outside circulating supply until converted.

Verified10-Q, Cover page: shares outstanding by class; the class has no trading symbolApplied automatically to every unlisted class.

Institutional holders

13F, quarter ended Jun 30, 2026
HolderShares% of total
Harris Associates L P919.3K8.14%
BlackRock, Inc.859.1K7.61%
Dodge & Cox404.2K3.58%
Vanguard Capital Management LLC358.6K3.18%
Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC312.3K2.77%
State Street Corp208.2K1.84%
Jpmorgan Chase & Co184.8K1.64%
Geode Capital Management, LLC171.8K1.52%
Hotchkis & Wiley Capital Management LLC155K1.37%
Coatue Management LLC139.5K1.24%

Sum of long share positions in Form 13F reports for the quarter. 13F covers managers with over $100M in US equities; some positions are reported by more than one filer.

Insiders

Forms 3, 4 and 5

Form 4 aggregation pending

Share classes

ClassListingShares
Class AFCNCA on Nasdaq10,287,935
Class BNot listed (valued at FCNCA)1,005,185

Notes and sources

First Citizens has no unvested restricted stock and no lock-ups. Members of the Holding family, two of them directors and executive officers, have pledged 331,304 Class A shares to Wells Fargo, Bank of America and Truist as security for personal credit lines.

  • Pledged shares stay in circulating supply, so they are recorded under pledged only. Together the 13D/A pledges add up to 331,304 Class A shares: Holding Jr. 198,052, Bryant 78,362, O. Holding 50,000, Brice 4,890.
  • The Exhibit E text is a PDF; its extracted text was saved to the shared document cache (798941_000119312526344990_ck0000000000-ex99_e.pdf.txt) so the quotes can be checked.
  • The 2026 proxy says no pledge exceptions have been requested or approved; the pledges of directors and executive officers are 'grandfathered'. A 30,000-share pledge by Peter M. Bristow was released in 2025. The proxy table shows no Class B shares pledged.
  • Class B (1,005,185 shares as of 2026-08-03) is an unlisted class and is counted automatically; no item was added.
  • The 10-K says all stock awards vested during 2024 and there were no unvested RSUs at Dec 31, 2025 and 2024, so there are no restricted stock awards.